New Rules of Lifting for Women

I love to run.  But I don’t really fall under the category of ‘running is enough’.  I think that you should have some cross training or weight lifting if you so desire.  It’s not for everyone, but some people are into that type of thing.  I am not an expert, nor do I have a degree in this. All opinion.

A couple of years ago when I was more just running and not doing any races, I got this book for Christmas:

I actually started to do the workouts, but it was right before we moved from Alabama to Seattle.  So that ended quickly. From time to time I would go into the gym and lift some weights.  The funny thing is – I really enjoy it!

For the past 6+ months I have been reading Meals and Miles. Meghann has embarked upon this program and succeeded greatly! Seeing her progress with the program while training for a half Ironman and marathons is so inspiring! The book doesn’t say much about long distance events and extensive running, so I was a bit scared.

So about 6 weeks ago, I picked up the book, reread it and laid everything out. I had a couple of work trips sideline me, so I essentially started the program 3.5 weeks ago.

With my running schedule I decided the best option for hitting the gym 3x a week was 5am. Yep. So I have been going at 5 am to the gym 3 days a week. Its been fun! I feel so much better throughout the day when I am there early and get my workout going! In the mornings I don’t feel that I even need coffee!

The gym may scare some people but I think it is fun! It is fun to be in there with all the guys.  Please don’t let this scare you!

Get a couple of sessions with a personal trainer if you have not done lifting before! I thankfully have some friends who are trainers that I can go to with questions!

Why am I doing this? Well for several reasons:
Strength I want to be stronger
Running – Strength will help my running
Lose weight – yep. Its true. I know this isn’t the solution, but it helps.

I know my weight starting this but I didn’t take measurements before I started. Maybe for the next stage.  I feel some progress already, but I’ll recap at the end of the stage! The program is ~6 months long and I am excited to see how it progresses!

Off to the gym!!

**Happy Feb 29th! So crazy for this one extra day!! **

About Karla

Runner, Christian, Reader, All about living a healthy lifestyle and living for God!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to New Rules of Lifting for Women

  1. Lauren says:

    Ah! Awesome! I love a girl that isn’t shy to lift some weights! I wish I was as strong as I was back when I ran cross country in college, but alas, I am back to starting from scratch. And while I know running ins’t really “enough” for me, I’m working hard to start somewhere! Fun blog!

  2. Pingback: InstaFriday! | Running on Eagles Wings

  3. Pingback: Marathon #3! | Running on Eagles Wings

  4. Pingback: New Rules of Lifting for Women Stage 1 Recap | Running on Eagles Wings

Post a Comment

