Summer Reading Series #1!

Summer is the season of relaxation and reading by the pool!  Now I’m not sure how much of that I’m going to be doing since I work full time, BUT I am here to help you with some quality reading for your summer pleasure!!

Every Tuesday I’ll post a book I read and weather or not I thought it was good!  Don’t worry no spoilers here!! (FYI – I am a FAST reader but I’m still going to post the time it takes me to read.) So let’s kick off summer reading!!

Week 1:

“The Friday Night Knitting Club” by Kate Jacobs

Amazon: The Friday Night Knitting Club (Friday Night Knitting Club Novels)

Genre: Fiction – Romance
Year published: 2007

This is Part 1 of a 2 book series. This book was recommended to me by my Mother -in-law at least a year ago.  I have had it on my amazon ‘to-read’ list for quite awhile.  I actually picked it up at the library about a month ago.

I read this book in 2 sittings.  First half was read in the car on the way home from my last marathon and the second half last Saturday. I would guess ~6 hours reading time with some distractions. This book is about a single mom who opened up her own yarn shop.  She started off by taking knitting orders and worked her way up to a shop. Eventually some of her regulars started hanging out on Friday nights and formed their own Knitting Club. This story is pretty good because it touches on several different characters and their individual situations.  The book did surprise me at the end and I wouldn’t say I loved the ending, but it definitely fit the story. This book also inspired me to learn how to knit! I know how to crochet but I’m going to work on knitting this summer I think! The next time I hit the library(or if I get bored I’ll download to my Kindle) I’m going to look up the sequel, Knit Two.

If you have read this, did you like it?

If not and you are interested in a light easy read, pick it up!

About Karla

Runner, Christian, Reader, All about living a healthy lifestyle and living for God!
This entry was posted in Books. Bookmark the permalink.

Post a Comment

