Summer Reading Series #3

We have made it to week 3! Another week of some good reading here on my end!

The Read for this week is: “The Peach Keeper” by Sarah Addison Allen

Amazon: The Peach Keeper: A Novel

Genre: Fiction
Published:2012(reprint)

This book was a completely random find on the shelf at the entrance to the library.  I have never heard of the author before or this book. It looked like a good story!  The story is set in modern-day times, but has history back to 1936 when a group of women formed their own society to help each other out. Hard times with a mix of rich & poor girls in a small town. Years later, two daughters of the original members still live there, but are not friends.  However the club still exists and one of the girls is trying to get the other to come to a party to celebrate 75 years of the club. The club is being held at a restored mansion and oddly there was a peach tree growing on the grounds. The story is about how this peach tree grew and how the club got started.  There is also a bit of fun romance and a rekindled friendship along the way.  This was a pretty light read, but definitely held my attention well.  I read this in about 4 hours on a plane and in my hotel room.

Edit: This book does have magic in it. I didn’t really pick up on it as a huge issue, but its there so I feel like I should warn people who are against that type of stuff! It’s not something I typically read but it didn’t bother me.

Luckily I found another great read that is good for any occasion!

Are you doing much summer reading? Do you like to read? 

About Karla

Runner, Christian, Reader, All about living a healthy lifestyle and living for God!
This entry was posted in Books. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Summer Reading Series #3

  1. Ricole Runs says:

    That name sounds familiar… have I read one of her other books? What else has she written? I’m being bad and rereading Hunger Games instead of something new. 🙂

  2. Ricole Runs says:

    Oh yes haha, I’ve read both Garden Spells and The Girl Who Chased the Moon and even reviewed them on the blog, I’m an idiot for not remembering her name! Does this book have magic in it?

Post a Comment

