Summer Reading Series #8

Wow July seems to be flying by!! I haven’t had as much time to read lately so good thing this last book was fast!!

This week’s book is: “The Walk” by Richard Paul Evans

Amazon:Richard Paul Evans’sThe Walk: A Novel (Walk Series) [Deckle Edge] [Hardcover](2010)

Genre: Fiction
Published: 2010

I found this book because one of the later books in this series is on the NY Times Bestsellers list. It sounded interesting so I thought it would be best to start at the beginning! This is the first book in a series of I’m not sure how many.

The book is about a guy who seems to have everything. He has worked hard and built a successful business and has a wife and pretty much enjoying everything. (Ironically he lives in Seattle!) But then of course, one day everything falls apart. I’m not just talking one thing – pretty much everything in his life. So he has to decide what he wants to do. He found the farthest place in the US from Seattle – Key West – and decided he would walk there. (hence the title…) He has always written a diary, so the book is in the form of a day-by-day synopsis of his journey. There are quite a few interesting adventures he has. It is kind of exciting to me because I grew up near the AT an always wanted to backpack so, this is similar.  The book has a few surprises in it, but nothing crazy. I think it definitely keeps the story a bit more interesting.

This book probably only took 2.5 hours to read. It was a very fast read and very easy read.  I really enjoyed it. The book is supposedly about a physical and spiritual journey, but the spiritual part I didn’t quite get.. There is a sequel to this book – “Miles to Go”. I might try to grab it at the library on my next trip!

Happy Reading!

About Karla

Runner, Christian, Reader, All about living a healthy lifestyle and living for God!
This entry was posted in Books and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Post a Comment

